More Firsts

This wont be a teribbly long post, but a few things have happened this week I dont want to forget. And although I am keeping a baby book, it simply doesnt allow enough space for everything! 

At 14 weeks, Isaac has now started showing interest in his stuffed animals. Every morning he spends time talking to them in his crib. I surround him with a variety of them to keep him occupied as I wash bottles, take care of the dogs, and such. Side note- not to worry he isnt sleeping with a bunch of stuffed animals. His favorite seems to be a bright yellow chick-a-dee his nanna bought him long before he was born.   Runner up is a turtle I bought him when pregnant.

He is also determined to watch TV. For about a month now I have noticed him glancing at it, but in the past week he has really locked in on it. So much that I have to turn it off if he is napping in the living room. He has been watching March Madness with his dad mostly. When he was in his little Fisher Price chair, I placed him in front of the TV & flipped to PBS kids just to see how he would react and he seemed to like it. I think I will put on the baby DVD set I got him soon and see how it goes. By no means do I want him in front of a TV all day, but on the other hand I do believe there are programs that educate littles and provide value. As a former teacher, I used such technology in moderation to engage my students and always saw a positive results. I plan to do the same for my son.

Miracle attended his first music and movement class this week. The class is designed for 3-11 month olds, yet he was the youngest one there. Most of the babies were 6+ and able to sit and crawl. All of the moms were nice (although you could tell somewhat in a clique) and it was neat to see how my baby reacted to all the other babies and instruments in the class. The class lasted an hour, and during that time he didnt cry, instead he ate once, smiled, stared at all the stimuli, did some tummy time, and finally, out of pure exhaustion, fell asleep. Overall it was a good experience, and the plan is to try the library next week. They offer storytime for 0-12 mo olds once a week. Isaac has been listening to stories since he was a week old, and he is very interested in books now. His favorites are Peek-a-Who, Curious George, The Hungy Caterpillar, & Let’s Talk. This being said, I think he will love storytime with other babies. And even if he doesnt, I think getting out and trying things is important to his development so it is worth a shot. 

Another first. LO stayed awake the entire time we were in Target the other day. In the past, he has slept the entire time on trips like this so mommy used them for an easy nap. This trip he was amazed at everything and couldnt keep his eyes off the shelves. So much for guaranteed naps at Target! Lol. 

I am loving everyminute as I watch him change & grow from a tiny newborn into a baby with personality. Hard to believe this time last year we were just 1 week away from our (3rd) FET that would bring us him. Keep the faith ladies, miracles do happen! 

9 thoughts on “More Firsts

  1. I’m so happy to here he is thriving! The stuffed animal time sounds so adorable. We go to a “bouncing babies” song and storyline at the library. She seems more interested in the things around her than the stories and songs. It fun to watch them take in the world.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. McLovin loves to watch TV too! He will just stare and stare! I worry about him having “screen time”, I know he is young and it keeps him quiet but I don’t want him to get in any bad habits. Not sure if it even matters at this age, who knows.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lots of fun firsts!!!!

    I accidentally discovered Aviana likes TV when I was at my parents house where the TV is on all the time…and so when I was flying back from UK I put on baby TV on the inflight entertainment- no sound- and she loved it! I was wondering if people on the plane were judging me for letting my baby watch TV! It was only for 10-15 mins, but hey she enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

